Game centers

Every MVP, Tiny Trophy Reaction – NBC Chicago

WNBA All-Star Game: Every MVP, reaction to small trophy originally appeared on NBC Sports Washington

WNBA All-Star Game MVP is a big honor that comes with a small comic award this year.

Kelsey Plum won the award at the event in Chicago on Sunday. The Las Vegas Aces guard entered the contest, scoring a game-high 30 points and drilling five 3-pointers for the victorious Wilson team.

After the game, the cheers turned to mockery, but not at Plum. She met WNBA commissioner Cathy Engelbert on center court to receive her trophy. If you squint hard enough, you can actually see Plum holding it:

Despite receiving a small piece of comedic material, Plum joined the company of some WNBA icons in earning All-Star MVP honors. Here’s a look at the group she’s now part of, along with more reactions to the actual trophy:

Who has won the WNBA All-Star Game MVP the most times?

Two basketball legends share the honor of most WNBA All-Star Game MVPs with three.

Lisa Leslie was named MVP in the first WNBA All-Star Game in 1999. The Los Angeles Sparks center went on to earn two more MVP honors for the game in 2001 and 2002.

Maya Moore is the other player with three All-Star Game MVPs to her name. The Minnesota Lynx forward has won three consecutive awards, starting in 2015 and in 2017 and 2018. Although there was no All-Star Game in 2016, Moore earned an even bigger honor this summer there: an Olympic gold medal.

Every WNBA All-Star Game MVP

Here is the full list of players who will be named the WNBA All-Star Game Most Valuable Player:

  • 1999: Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles Sparks
  • 2000: Tina Thompson, Houston Comets
  • 2001: Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles Sparks
  • 2002: Lisa Leslie, Los Angeles Sparks
  • 2003: Nikki Teasley, Los Angeles Sparks
  • 2005: Sheryl Swoopes, Houston Comets
  • 2006: Katie Douglas, Connecticut Sun
  • 2007: Cheryl Ford, Detroit Shock
  • 2009: Swin Cash, Seattle Storm
  • 2011: Swin Cash, Seattle Storm
  • 2013: Candace Parker, Los Angeles Sparks
  • 2014: Shoni Schimmel, Dream of Atlanta
  • 2015: Maya Moore, Minnesota Lynx
  • 2017: Maya Moore, Minnesota Lynx
  • 2018: Maya Moore, Minnesota Lynx
  • 2019: Erica Wheeler, Indiana Fever
  • 2021: Arike Ogunbowale, Dallas Wings
  • 2022: Kelsey Plum, Ace of Las Vegas

Why is the WNBA All-Star Game MVP trophy so small?

Alright, back to the little cup-sized elephant in the room.

Along with Sylvia Fowles’ quick dunk, the trophy presentation was the biggest viral moment to come from this year’s WNBA All-Star Game.

Afterwards, the Plum’s Aces teammates couldn’t help but laugh at the moment:

And predictably, fellow Twitter users were equally relentless:

It’s still unclear why the WNBA prepared such a small trophy for this year’s All-Star Game, especially since it wasn’t an issue in previous years.

As for the WNBA All-Star MVP Trophy award, it’s fair to guess a bit.

After the response to this year’s trophy, the league should most certainly improve the size of the trophy for 2023.