Welcome to the Jersey Shore!
If you’re a regular summer visitor to our beaches and boardwalks, you probably know something has changed since the last time you were here: yes, we now have legal weed for sale.
Cannabis is now king in New Jersey, and as long as you’re over 21, you’re allowed to enter any of 13 medical marijuana dispensaries across the Garden State and dating marijuana.
In fact, cannabis relies on tourists from other states. Cannabis in New Jersey could be a $3 billion industryand the millions of potential visitors living within hours’ drive are a key reason industry leaders have been pushing for New Jersey to outpace New York, Delaware and other mid-Atlantic states. .
So while you’re here, kick back, relax, and enjoy the, uh, fruits of our labor.
Here’s what you need to know about legal weed from New Jersey:
Where can I buy legal weed?
There are currently 13 medical marijuana dispensaries in the state that are licensed to sell legal weed for adult or recreational use.
Five other dispensaries have recently obtained the required state approval, but have yet to officially transition to recreational sales.
Here’s the bad news: there are only two medical marijuana dispensaries located in a beach town: The Botanist and MPX New Jersey, both in Atlantic City. But none of these dispensaries are among the lucky 13 licensed to sell recreational marijuana.
If you’re visiting the beaches near the southern tip of New Jersey, your best bet is probably The Botanist in Egg Harbor Township.
If you’re coming from New York, you’ll want to collect your pot before you get to southern Union County.
There are plenty of dispensaries located fairly close to major highways in North Jersey that you likely use to get to your Shore destination.
Ascend’s flagship dispensary in Rochelle Park is nestled between Interstate 80 and the Garden State Parkway, and RISE Dispensaries in Bloomfield is just a few miles down the Parkway.
The Maplewood Apothecarium is off Interstate 78, which connects to the Garden State Parkway in Union County.
What if you land at Newark Liberty International Airport? Zen Leaf Elizabeth is less than four miles away on Route 9.
So can I just come in and buy some legal weed?
No matter where you plan to buy cannabis, you should check it out beforehand.
Each legal cannabis dispensary in New Jersey has 14 hours per week set aside for patients. In some cases, these are entire days reserved exclusively for patients – so make sure you don’t show up on a date or at a time when you can’t actually enter the store.
And the operating model of each dispensary is different. Some greet customers with no questions asked, while others only take customers by appointment. Others schedule appointments, but walk-ins are accepted if they wait in line.
Be sure to check your chosen dispensary’s website for all the specific information you need, including a menu of available products and payment information, such as whether credit cards are accepted.
How much does legal weed cost?
As of Thursday, an eighth of an ounce of cannabis sold for $50 to $60, while lozenges – in flavors like wintergreen, sour watermelon or cherry burst – cost around $30.
Keep in mind: these dispensaries are supposed to serve medical marijuana patients first and foremost, so don’t be surprised if certain products aren’t available.
How much marijuana am I allowed to buy?
Per state law, you can purchase up to 1 ounce of cannabis flower, 5 grams of concentrates used for vaping, or up to 1000 mg (10 x 100 mg packets) of edibles.
But under state law, if you have up to 6 ounces of pot, you won’t face any penalties. But a police officer can seize any amount of cannabis over 1 ounce, even if it was purchased legally.
Where can I smoke weed?
In New Jersey, marijuana is treated as a combination of alcohol and cigarettes – so if you can’t smoke or drink there, you can’t use marijuana.
Unlike New York, smoking marijuana in public is expressly against state law. Importantly, this means there are no parks, boardwalks, or beaches.
And you can’t walk into a bar or a restaurant and light up, the same way you can’t smoke a cigarette in a crowded public place.
And just like alcohol, you can still be arrested for driving under the influence. Open container laws also apply: if you have an unsealed jar or bag of marijuana, it must be in the trunk of your car.
If you’re renting a house for the weekend or a week while you’re on the Jersey Shore, your landlord may prohibit you from using marijuana there, even on an outdoor patio.
So be sure to read your rental agreement carefully or ask your landlord for permission before planning to get high while you rent their property.
Can I take leftovers home?
New Jersey is one of 19 states to legalize recreational weed.
But because marijuana is still federally illegal, crossing state lines with marijuana is still technically drug trafficking. This is true even for the border between two legal cannabis states, such as New Jersey and New York.
So only buy what you know you will use or you will put a very expensive trash can on the sidewalk at the end of your stay.
Mike Davis has spent the past decade covering local New Jersey news, marijuana legalization, transportation, and a bit of everything in between. He has won a few awards that make his parents very proud. Contact him at [email protected] Where @byMikeDavis on Twitter.