Game centers

Which NBA player has won the most All-Star Game MVPs?

The NBA All-Star Game is the league’s annual fair-for-fun exhibition game. Centers are throwing 40-foot threes, outfielders are trying to hammer dunk-contest-worthy jams, and there are behind-the-back, through-the-leg passes galore.

But every year the league has to hand out an MVP award. More often than not, it ends up in the hands of the player who put in the most effort to try and win said prize.

But which player(s) (hint hint) have made this effort most often?

Who holds the record for most All-Star Game MVPs won?

All-Star Game MVP winners tend to meet certain criteria

Western Conference’s Kobe Bryant holds the MVP trophy after beating the Eastern Conference 153-132 in the 2007 NBA All-Star Game. | Lisa Blumenfeld/Getty Images

The last five winners of the award and their statistics are as follows:

  • 2021: Giannis Antetokounmpo (35 points, seven rebounds, three assists, one steal on 16-for-16 in a winning effort)
  • 2020: Kawhi Leonard (30 points, seven rebounds, four assists, two steals, 56.3% shooting in a winning effort)
  • 2019: Kevin Durant (31 points, seven rebounds, two assists, one steal, two blocks, 66.7% shooting in a winning effort)
  • 2018: LeBron James (29 points, 10 rebounds, eight assists, one steal, 70.6% shooting in a winning effort)
  • 2017: Anthony Davis (52 points, 10 rebounds, two steals, 26 of 39 shooting – 66.7% – in a winning effort)

You will notice two apparent patterns: the prize is awarded to the player who scores the most points and who happens to be on the winning team.

Which NBA player has won Kobe Bryant’s Most Valuable Player MVP the most times?

Importantly, NBA Commissioner Adam Silver renamed the 2020 NBA All-Star Game Most Valuable Player award Kobe Bryant after Bryant died in a helicopter crash weeks before the game. of that year.

It’s also important to note that Kobe Bryant is the answer to the question of which player has won the most All-Star Game MVPs. But he is not alone.

Bob Pettit also won four ASG MVPs in seven years: 1956, 1958, 1959, 1962. Pettit shouldn’t be forgotten on this list – winning four out of seven MVPs is a crazy stat. He also held this record for nearly half a century.

Bryant won all four of his between 2002 and 2011. The 2002 award came in the third and final championship season for the Los Angeles Lakers’ Shaq-and-Kobe dynasty. (He was booed by the crowd in his hometown of Philadelphia).

The Mamba also won in 2007 and 2009.

Who are the favorites to win the award in 2022?

Giannis has the best chance of winning this year’s award, according to DraftKings. He has +450 to win his second straight.

First-time All-Star Ja Morant has +550, LeBron has +600 to win in his hometown of Cleveland, Joel Embiid has +700, and Stephen Curry has +1000. (Jarrett Allen and Rudy Gobert have the worst odds at +12000).

LBJ may be the best bet with the motivation to win the award at 37 and in Cleveland, not to mention joining Bryant and Pettit on the list of four-time winners.

We will see if the score/gain trend continues this year. But if King James finishes with a points record and leads his team to victory, there’s a good chance he’ll join this elite All-Star Game company.

All stats courtesy of Basketball Reference.

RELATED: NBA All-Star Weekend: Remembering When Vince Carter Single-Handedly Resurrected The Dunk Contest